Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:44 pm by ztis1

» 6e carburettor
Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:06 pm by piston 197

Powerbike 56.

Go down

Powerbike 56.

Post  Bullet Train on Sat May 18, 2013 6:35 am

Good Morning,
My name is Alan, I'm new to F-BOC and I've signed into this forum to glean some information?
Recently, a friend has asked me to investigate selling an old bike of his, which he inherited some years ago. When I looked it over and took some pictures, I initially thought it was a Norman Model C Autocyle. The local owners club down here in Kent told me it wasn't a Norman, but possible a Rudge Autocycle (who Norman took over). With no documents available, I enquired with the chap who writes the monthly Unearthed column in Old Bike Mart. We have only the registration mark and Chassis/engine No.s to go on, and with this, I managed to get an archive copy from my library. This now confirms the bike as a Franci-Barnett, first registered 07/04/1952, here in Maidstone. Tha same frame No. is also recorded on the archive. The engine is a Villiers 2T I believe. I will be following the advice of the chap at OBM to recover, if possible, the original registration.